What Rolling Stone Taught Me About Miley Cyrus

Photo Credit: Rolling Stone

Photo Credit: Rolling Stone

First off, I would like to state that I am a huge Miley fan and, seeing as I refer to her by first name, I also like to think we would be BFFs, you know, before she shaved her head. But I’m also no dummy – homegirl’s got some issues. Miley covers the October issue of Rolling Stone and in it she does (and says) some pretty wacky things. But, there were also a few things that gave me hope that maybe, somewhere, she still has some sense in her.

She, like the rest of the world, thinks Bieber should wear a shirt:

“He’s trying really hard,” she adds. “People don’t take him seriously, but he really can play the drums, he really can play guitar, he really can sing. I just don’t want to see him fuck that up, to where people think he’s Vanilla Ice. I tell him that. Like, ‘You don’t want to become a joke. When you go out, don’t start shit. Don’t come in shirtless.‘ But the thing is,” she says with a laugh, “I think boys are, like, seven years behind. So in his head, he’s really, like, 12.”

Her VMA performance could’ve been worse, but she decided to hold back (thank goodness):

Miley thought there was a chance the network might pull the plug on her mid-performance, but she didn’t expect so much shock and vitriol. “Honestly, that was our MTV version,” she says. “We could have even gone further, but we didn’t. I thought that’s what the VMAs were all about! It’s not the Grammys or the Oscars. You’re not supposed to show up in a gown, Vanna White-style” – a little dig at Taylor Swift. “It’s supposed to be fun!”

And finally, the promise we’ve all been waiting for:

[On the response to her VMA performance] “People are like, ‘Miley thinks she’s a black girl, but she’s got the flattest ass ever,'” she says. “I’m like, I’m 108 pounds! I know! Now people expect me to come out and twerk with my tongue out all the time. I’ll probably never do that shit again.

There’s light at the end of the tunnel! I’m writing 2013 off as just a phase for Miley. Unless it lasts. Please, don’t let it last.

You can read the entire interview on RollingStone.com.

-Sara Garcia

Leave a Reply

