“Hairspray” Star Doles out Advice for Aspiring Actors (And Woos Us as LInk Larkin)

Paste a Video URL

Actor Andrew Mauney, who has a role in the upcoming indie flick “Trouble with Women,” croons as Link Larkin in The Red House Art Center’s “Hairspray.”

Andrew who has performed in the national tour of South Pacific and several other regional tours doles out some simple advice:

“One of the reasons I’ve been working for the last two years instead of just the last one is because I booked South Pacific, the [national] tour. From that they took me and transferred me to the Ogunquit regional production. From the tour, the choreographer from the tour had a friend who directed Buddy Holly. Through Morgana [girlfriend] I met her friend who was choreographing Hairspray, so that’s how I got that. And then a friend that I did tour with was directing S’Wonderful, so that’s how I got that. So I got a whole other year of work without having to audition for it because you show up, you do your job, you don’t piss people off and then they want to work with you again.”

Leave a Reply

