Hold me closer, Tony Danza

After the epic lip-sync contest between Jimmy Fallon and John Krasinski back in May, I am still unable to listen to Katy Perry’s “Teenage Dream” without thinking of Krasinski doing his best smitten schoolgirl impression. And that’s a good thing. This week, I was beyond happy to witness a new installment of the battle: Fallon faced Joseph Gordon Levitt and Stephen Merchant in what I can only be describe as my dream karaoke night.

I have to say I was pretty impressed by Merchant’s dance moves in his performance of “Single Ladies” by the artist who he calls Beyoncé Z. He looked pretty awkward, sure, but he wasn’t half bad. As for Fallon, he was in full 80’s glory for both Human League’s “Don’t You Want Me” and “Take On Me” by A Ha. But in every contest there must be a winner, and I think the prize should go to JGL. Not just because I’m convinced I should marry him someday, but because he managed to be both very emotional in his rendition of Elton John’s “Tiny Dancer” – or “Tony Danza,” as Phoebe Buffay immortalized it – and a surprisingly good dancer with Nikki Minaj’s “Superbass.”

If you haven’t yet seen this video, you’re in for the best ten minutes of your week.

By Cristina Alonso.

Leave a Reply

