Jay Z opens up to Vanity Fair

Image

Jay Z is on the cover of Vanity Fair’s November 2013 edition, and the rapper reveals some interesting details about his daughter with Beyoncé, Blue Ivy, as well as his difficult past. Here are some of his best quotes from the piece:

On his past: “I was a drug dealer. To be in a drug deal, you need to know what you can spend, what you need to re-up. Things you can get in easily to get out of [that] life. At some point, you have to have an exit strategy, because your window is very small; you’re going to get locked up or you’re going to die.”

On what he realized about drug dealing: “Not until later, when I realized the effects on the community. I started looking at the community on the whole, but in the beginning, no. I was thinking about surviving. I was thinking about improving my situation. I was thinking about buying clothes.”

On Blue Ivy’s name: “People wanted to make products based on our child’s name, and you don’t want anybody trying to benefit off your baby’s name. It wasn’t for us to do anything; as you see, we haven’t done anything.”

On dating Beyoncé: “You’ve got to try first. You got to dazzle . . . wine and dine.”

On why he’s still rapping: “I know I said I wouldn’t be doing it when I was 30, so that’s how I know I love it. Thirty years old was my cutoff, but I’m still here, 43 years old.”

source: Vanity Fair

-Jessica Lee

Leave a Reply

