Critics Slam Melissa McCarthy Magazine Cover

Image

Elle magazine is sparking controversy with its new cover featuring actress Melissa McCarthy. The Mike & Molly star is dressed in a coat covering most of her skin. Critics are slamming the magazine for covering up the plus-size actress’ curves.

In a statement responding to the controversy, Elle magazine said “On all of our shoots, our stylists work with the stars to choose pieces they feel good in, and this is no different: Melissa loved this look, and is gorgeous on our cover.”

McCarthy has handled body criticism before. New York Observer film critic Rex Reed wrote that the actress is simply “a gimmick comedian who has devoted her short career to being obese and obnoxious with equal success.” She later responded to Reed’s statement by telling The New York Times, “”I felt really bad for someone who is swimming in so much hate. I just thought, that’s someone who’s in a really bad spot, and I am in such a happy spot. I laugh my head off every day with my husband and my kids who are mooning me and singing me songs.

W

Leave a Reply

